The Fourth Trumpet

12 Then the fourth angel sounded: And a third of the sun was struck, a third of the moon, and a third of the stars, so that a third of them were darkened. A third of the day did not shine, and likewise the night.

The fourth trumpet deals with the sun, the moon, and the stars.  As is the case of the entire book, we must focus on the spiritual message being presented and not a physical occurrence.  Each of these provide light or illumination to the earth below.  Each were set in place of the fourth day of creation by the sovereign act of Our Heavenly Father.  Their function is to:

Divide the light and dark

Be signs of timing


Provide light and illumination

These three lights represent rulership and dominion over earth with Our Heavenly Father being the Supreme Ruler as depicted by the sun.  The Psalmist in chapter 84 speaks of this:

11  For the LORD God is a sun and shield;
The LORD will give grace and glory;
No good thing will He withhold
From those who walk uprightly.

Our Lord Jesus Christ is also referenced as the sun in Malachi 4:2-

But to you who fear My name
The Sun of Righteousness shall arise
With healing in His wings;
And you shall go out
And grow fat like stall-fed calves.

There will be a group who have turned to wisdom from Above and are likened to stars in Daniel chapter 12:

3  Those who are wise shall shine
Like the brightness of the firmament,
And those who turn many to righteousness
Like the stars
forever and ever.

If you review the writing of the fourth church in Thyatira (Revelation 3), Jesus gives the ministry of the morning star’s rulership and dominion to the overcomer:

26 And he who overcomes, and keeps My works until the end, to him I will give power over the nations—

​27 ​‘​He shall rule them with a rod of iron;

​​They shall be dashed to pieces like the potter’s vessels’

​as I also have received from My Father; 28 and I will give him the morning star.

29 “He who has an ear, let him hear what the Spirit says to the churches.” ’

We have a consistent theme throughout this Revelation of Love: there are two heavens and two earths, the new and the old; one ruled by FATHER, Jesus Christ, and the Sons of GOD; the other ruled by cunning men and their devices where death and destruction persist.  The Book of Revelation provides us an ongoing progression into a mature understanding of the revelation of Jesus Christ.  Each of the seven churches, trumpets, and vials all speak of Spiritual maturity through judgments of the carnal nature of man.  The end result is a new heaven and a new earth:

Revelation 21:1  Now I saw a new heaven and a new earth, for the first heaven and the first earth had passed away. Also there was no more sea.

The sea represents the lowest aspect of man where the lusts reside.  This is where the serpent of deception comes out of these waters to be revealed.  This sea is no longer found with the new heaven and earth.  This old heaven and earth is being judged by fire as Peter wrote in 2 Peter 3:

12 looking for and hastening the coming of the day of God, because of which the heavens will be dissolved, being on fire, and the elements will melt with fervent heat?

13 Nevertheless we, according to His promise, look for new heavens and a new earth in which righteousness dwells.

Just as the third trumpet dealt with rivers of revelation versus rivers of men’s views, opinions, etc., the fourth trumpet deals with the higher lights of illumination that rule and reign in men’s lives.  The Sons will no longer be dominated and ruled by men but instead will fully submit to the rulership from Above.  The lower lights shall no longer have power and authority over the Sons.  What a day to embrace!

In each case, the “third” represents the first squadron called forth for HIS purpose.  There are three major groups to be redeemed just as their were three major feasts with three progressive functions and end results.   Paul spoke of these divisions in 1 Corinthians 15 soon after he focused on the preeminence of Love in chapter 13:

22 For as in Adam all die, even so in Christ all shall be made alive.

23 But each one in his own order: Christ the firstfruits, afterward those who are Christ’s at His coming.

24 Then comes the end, when He delivers the kingdom to God the Father, when He puts an end to all rule and all authority and power.

25 For He must reign till He has put all enemies under His feet.

26 The last enemy that will be destroyed is death.

The light in the Holy of Holies where the throne resides is the Glory of FATHER and no natural light from the lower heaven is needed.  The light in the Holy Place is provided by lamps of revelation.  Only in the outer court is found the lower light of the former earth and heavens.  These three places represent three states and three groups.  The Sons are those who are depicted around the Throne as elders and the 144,000.  There are two distinct other groups represented in the Holy Place and the outer court.  Their light has a different and lesser source.  As we ascend to the third heaven, we will have a full revelation of Jesus Christ and this is what this entire book is about.  This ascending is accomplished by HIS Love for us.  Get the message?

Comments are closed.